Tamia Talks
Tamia Talks
crushing comedy w/ leah kramer
0:00
-41:13

crushing comedy w/ leah kramer

all about the living room comedy show where people fall in love (or don't)

For this month’s edition of the Tamia Talks podcast, I caught up with a lovely fellow UW-Madison alum, Leah Kramer, about Crush Comedy, an NYC living room comedy show she created alongside Eve Wallack.

During our conversation, Leah and I chat about building safe spaces for up-and-coming comedians, our shared all-girls high school experience, and (of course) our crushes.

If you’re interested in visiting Crush Comedy, follow them on Instagram at crushcomedyy for updates on their April show.

For a glimpse at our conversation, check below the candy hearts :)

[This conversation has been edited and condensed for clarity.]

TF: Okay, so tell me about Crush Leah, it’s a living room comedy show, we get together with friends and we share laughs, is that accurate?

LK: I co-founded Crush Comedy alongside my friend and colleague, Eve Wallack, who is amazing. We met at an open mic, and I was very new to comedy only started in August or September vibes, and I needed a creative outlet. I've always been someone who's very involved or super involved in college, and I just love sinking my teeth into things, especially in creative things and creating spaces of community. So I kind of was like, “Eve, I really want to do a comedy show are you down to full send?” and she said yes. And then our friend Henry offered up his apartment as a fun concept. And it was kind of just this beautiful, unique experience. We're really excited to see where it goes.

TF: So, how did you come to decide that comedy was the thing for you, especially when it came to branching out and creating this community space?

LK: I want to say like, I think one of the reasons I wanted to start the comedy show is because in every part of my life, whether it be like in a discussion section in college, or on my soccer team in high school, I was the like, community curator, that's kind of the role that I take on. It’s the role that I love.I feel like my strength is building community, and that's a strength that's not very tangible. But, I was even at an open mic yesterday and random people sat at my table, and I was like, “Okay, we're going to like be best friends now.”

I think that when people feel understood and heard, the best things come from that because they're comfortable. And that was a big reason for Crush. I was like, I can curate, like a space that's communal and makes people feel really comfortable. And I think that that's very underlooked. I feel like when people are thinking about comedy, they're thinking about the performers. But the audience also plays a huge if not, honestly bigger role than the comedians because the audience needs to be comfortable reacting.

Listen for more!

Leave a comment

Share Tamia Talks

0 Comments
Tamia Talks
Tamia Talks
Tamia Talks is a podcast created by Tamia Fowlkes, a multimedia journalist whose work has been featured in The Washington Post, Blavity, Teen Vogue, Essence and other national and local news publications. On the podcast you will find interviews with community leaders and culture shifters, chatter about the happenings of the world, advice on finding your creative passion and pursuing professional goals, and lists of things that I (Tamia) love and want to share with our Tamia Talks community!